Cycling Food: Early 3rd Anniversary Present

Bicycles

My husband and I have been talking about getting bicycles. Now we have them, Our anniversary is coming up on the 1st of May. 3 Years. Yes not very long for many, but I say we have had a hell of a marriage so far. My husband has been deployed twice on 10-12 month deployments to Afghanistan. We had a baby on our first one, yes I happened to be 6 months pregnant when we got married. We decided a very healthy gift for the both of us would be Bicycles. We bought that and a rack and a seat for our 2 year old daughter. I am trying to think of some good healthy snacks that are easy to make at home. But I want to also shake it up and not just go with the norm, of a piece of fruit and some nuts.

Any ideas? Reading some websites I have found a few recipes I will share. Please feel free to share back. We would love some ideas. We live in Bavaria in Germany. It’s spring so the weather is wonderful so getting out and going bicycling is the plan. But we also want to make sure you we are keeping our energy up as we cycle.

Also if you don’t have time to make anything I also found items you may find at the store: Dried fruit such as raisins and dates. Bagels or lowfat cookies. Gatorade (it has carbs that assist with your ride)

Bagels: (http://www.bikeforums.net/archive/index.php/t-181756.html)

1-2 bagels
peanut butter
honey or agave nectar (for the vegans in the crowd); jelly and jam are good too

Slice open the bagel the usual way. Schmear with PB and sweetener of choice (above). Put halves together, then quarter the bagel “sandwich”. Wrap each quarter in foil and voilà! nutritious little treats for the ride. Repeat with second bagel for longer rides.

Granola: (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/granola-recipe/index.html)

  • 3 cups rolled oats

  • 1 cup slivered almonds

  • 1 cup cashews

  • 3/4 cup shredded sweet coconut

  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar

  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

  • 3/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1 cup raisins

Directions

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and brown sugar.

In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, oil, and salt. Combine both mixtures and pour onto 2 sheet pans. Cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color.

Remove from oven and transfer into a large bowl. Add raisins and mix until evenly distributed.

When I have the ingredients I will be trying a chewy granola bar. But right now my cupboards and pantry are missing key items….

 

Yes, My husband told me I had to wait til payday 🙂  Budgeting is a pain, but C’est La Vie….One of these days…

Someone please tell my husband its not nice to cut off my creative juices when they are flowing…(Sorry did that sound dirty..)

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cycling Food: Early 3rd Anniversary Present

  1. I really need to get a bike! Yours looks beautiful. Read my post about electrolytes: why you don’t need Gatorade. Carry some coconut water with you and a banana! You’ll be much better off 🙂

    • I tried coconut water a few years ago. I wasn’t really impressed with it. Although I do love coconut in many forms. I am thinking infused water will do a good trick with cucumbers, ginger, mint and some lemon.. Bananas Yum, yes they are very helpful with cramping. Thanks for the advice I will check out that post as we speak. 🙂

Leave a Reply

