Fried Chicken 1st time since we married

So I was sitting looking at recipes last night when I thought of chicken. Fried Chicken. Something I haven’t had  in a long time.  Since living overseas we don’t find this meal often.

I realized I had not made this for my husband since we got married. I learned to “perfect” it in culinary school.

Of course I didn’t cut up my own chicken. The one thing I know about making your own fried chicken is that it’s a lot of work and time consuming. Adding a fresh chicken would to me would be a real pain.

Also there are so many ways to prep fried chicken. Brining, Dry Rubs, Marinating, soak in buttermilk to name a few.

Also the spices you put in the flour can vary depending on what your preference is.

Amounts of items will vary depending on how much chicken is being fried.

So I did this:

  • 3 cups Flour Contained: Salt, Paprika, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Poultry Seasoning
  • I had soaked the chicken pieces in Buttermilk for 20-30 minutes before dredging.
  • Egg Wash: 3 eggs and about 3 tbsp. water
  • Frying Oil
Buttermilk

Buttermilk

Flour and Spices

Flour and Spices, Mix together before dredging

Egg wash

Egg and water is egg wash

Chicken Buttermilk

Chicken Soaking in Buttermilk

My Little Station. My daughter wanted to assist.

My Little Station. My daughter wanted to assist.

Coat the meat in flour, shake it excess, dip in egg wash, put it back in the flour and shake off excess.

Coat the meat in flour, shake it excess, dip in egg wash, put it back in the flour and shake off excess.

Place on a rack until ready to fry

Place on a rack until ready to fry

Once you get all of the chicken breaded. Prepare your fryer or skillet. I suggest if you are cooking it in a cast iron skillet, to keep it on medium high. Cast Iron is a head conductor, it gets very hot and stays hot. Use Fresh cooking oil for best results.

Cook time varies on size of chicken  and your stove  I did the thighs for 7-8 minutes on each side.

Cook time varies on size of chicken and your stove I did the thighs for 7-8 minutes on each side.

If the oil is not hot enough your chicken will look like its soaked in oil.

If the oil is not hot enough your chicken will look like its soaked in oil.

Chicken legs about the same time

Chicken legs about the same time

This is how I did my fried chicken. I will post my mashed potatoes in the next post. Thanks for reading!

305706_363982030373893_261916439_n-640x640.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

