My Husband’s Favorite: Vinegar Mustard BBQ Pulled Pork in the crockpot

I have been researching for a while a recipe for a Mustard/Vinegar based BBQ sauce to use on various meats, cooking in various ways. My husband is from South Carolina, he is accustomed to Mustard/Vinegar BBQ Sauces. Specifically, Maurice’s.  I myself being from Utah (grew up there, not born there) was not really aware of that sort of sauce. I do not like Sauces. I am not particularly fond of BBQ.

Okay, so when you read that you thought I was crazy. I would too if I were you. I’m supposed to be a foodie and a chef. Aren’t we supposed to love everything. Well, no. Not really.

Wait…Before you hang my blog out to dry,  or put it out to pasture…

This sauce I concocted is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, that many exclamation points deserves a smack in the face.

I love Mustard on anything. Apparently, my husband does too. So I met my match with my husband who introduced me to Mustard/Vinegar based BBQ, I love the tartness and tantalizing taste it leaves on the tip of your tongue.

After reading through too many mustard BBQ recipes, I came up with a method for the madness in making my sauce.

This is the Combination of Items: (Although, the amounts can be changed for preference of taste)

1 cup yellow Mustard

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup honey

Worcestershire Sauce ( I just shake the bottle til I’m satisfied, really I do.)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

1-2 tsp chili powder

Sauce

I had seen many many recipes using liquid smoke as well as hot sauces to add heat to the sauce. I consulted with my husband about this. He said there shouldn’t be any extreme heat to the sauce, although it does pack a punch when added to a pulled-pork with a somewhat spicy rub.

Combine all those ingredients mixing them together. That’s it!

However, I wont leave you hanging.

Pork

Take a 2-3lb pork shoulder.

1tbsp black pepper

2tbsp chili powder

2 tsp salt

1 tbsp hungarian paprika

1 tbsp sugar

2 tsp garlic powder

Rub

Mix all the dry spices together, including sugar. Rub on the outside of the pork really well. Sear the pork on all sides.

Rubbed pork

SearingPlace the Pork in a crock pot, pour the previously made BBQ sauce over top of it. Cover using lid. Turn on for 6-8 hours on low. Allowing to cook slow. When done use two forks to pull the pork.

It delicious served on any bread or roll.

You can either tear the pork off to the side and later add the sauce as you are putting it on the bread or mix it altogether.

 

 

in crock Added Sauce Added Sauce 1

This makes enough for leftovers for 2 people. So 4 people it would probably be enough for a meal. Although I made two 5 lb pork shoulder, doubling the BBQ recipe for a potluck and there was still leftovers.

Hope you enjoy this one. This is a keeper for sure. I would change a few of the spices if I was adding it in with beef to enrich the flavor.

Please let me know if you have any other suggestions for BBQ Sauces. I would love to hear them!

As always thank you for reading my blog.

Check out my Facebook page: Apron Strings: Cooking Tips and Advice

305706_363982030373893_261916439_n-640x640.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Husband’s Favorite: Vinegar Mustard BBQ Pulled Pork in the crockpot

  1. Hi i just went through this recipe and its not to bad. It attracted my interest as i am developing recipes for pulled meat at the moment. I have an excellent dry rub for beef if your interested, just send me an email.

Leave a Reply

