Summer’s Chocolate Cake

My somewhat ugly  chocolate cake with a shiny cooked frosting (which I did not completely beat enough)

My somewhat ugly chocolate cake with a shiny cooked frosting (which I did not completely beat enough)

Okay so this is a family recipe out of my handy dandy family cook book that was put together by my cousin Jacquie. It was put together in lieu of the 60th anniversary party. My whole family cooks one thing or another, we put together our best and favorite recipes. From Pumpkin Cookies, to Pickled Wieners and even Pad Thai courtesy of my Uncle Bun (who is Vietnamese and Laotian).

This chocolate cake is very basic, and was meant to be served hot in a bowl, with milk poured over it. It’s still eaten that way by my uncles. Every ingredient and item cost money. My grandma at the time with 7 kids never made frosting it could be expensive so the simple adornment of fresh milk is what they did.

Chocolate Cake:

2 Cups Sugar

2 Eggs

1/2 Cup Oil

2 1/2 Cups Flour

1/2 Cup Cocoa

1 tsp. Vanilla

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. Baking Soda

1 cup Milk

1 cup hot water

Mix together sugar, oil, and eggs.  Combine flour, cocoa, salt, baking soda.  Add vanilla. Alternate flour  milk into sugar mixture.  Add Hot water last. It will be a liquid mixture.  Grease and flour 2- 9″ pans. pouring batter evenly into both. Bake in oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 25 minutes.

I decided to make a cooked frosting, which was my disaster which I shall share with you. I did not beat the egg whites hard enough while over the double boiler. So hence a very runny frosting. Makes the cake look shiny though.  It does taste good, too.  I always say it doesn’t have to look good to taste good.

 

Enjoy. You might try it like I said, hot out of the oven with milk poured over it. You don’t know what you are missing.

 

One thought on “Summer’s Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

