Red Velvet Cheesecake Cake (Yes Cake (Pause) Cake) 2 in 1

In a promise to my husband to make him a cheesecake and a red velvet cake,  I did a 2 in 1, which turned into Rich Deliciously goodness. I took a recipe from the Recipe Girl Website http://www.recipegirl.com/2011/11/28/red-velvet-cheesecake-cake/, I have done Cheesecake mini bites but never a full on cheesecake so I followed the cheesecake recipe to the T and it turned out perfect.  I always expect Murphy’s law to intervene when I am doing something this thorough. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it turned out and was perfect

Empty Springfron Cheesecake

Suggestion, with the cheesecake, make sure you foil the spring form pan really well, and the cheesecake wont be nearly as tall because it does not have a crust. The Cheese cake goes in the freezer once it cools in the pan on a cooling rack.  (It makes it easier to handle putting between the 2 layers of Red Velvet Cake.

red velvet layer

Red Velvet Cheesecake Cake Red Velvet Cheesecake Cake

Note the layer of Red Velvet Cake on top, I changed the recipe a bit for the cake. I shaved off a bit of cake to flatten my layers. Which leaves crumbs, Note the crumbs. Then I Made a Simple Syrup: Which is Water and Sugar, Which is sugar dissolved in water at a low temp over the stove til it becomes a somewhat syrupy consistency, I do a 1:1 ratio but some recipes call for 1/4 cup more sugar than water. What a sugar syrup does is add moisture to a cake layer that may be dry or you just want to add the extra benefit to the cake. I take a pastry brush and brush the liquid over the cake layer, which also tamps down the crumbs (its a win win, with more moist cake ) *I know it totally sounds wrong if you read it aloud, More Moist Cake, More Moist Cake, More Moist Cake (Say it again 3 or 4 times) …As you note the shiny layers of cake too.layers together with frosting Mix of redvelvet pic cake

Here Comes the fun part. Which is putting the layers of cake and the layer of cheesecake together which is rather easy, I put a small layer of the cream cheese frosting (with walnuts and addition I made, because of my awesome mother-in-law who has the best red velvet cake ever) on the bottom layer of cake, the proceeded to place the frozen, cheesecake on that layer and added the last layer. Frosted the Top. Using all of the frosting. I made a half batch of the frosting again with no walnuts for the side. then proceeded to frost the side. Using all of the frosting on top made it about 2-3 inches thick (Nom Nom).  I frosted the side using as much as I could. then threw on the remaining chopped walnuts I had which had that I don’t care kinda look on the cake. Then I used a pastry tip in a bag to do dollops of plain cream cheese frosting on top. I will say that my husband walked in as I was adding the dollops, which then he proceeded to laugh and ask why I was doing this. I told him everything has to have its Ooo La La factor.  Now look at the photo Below. Stare at it in utter awe. I put it in the Fridge covered overnight and we ate a piece the next day. Reminds me I need to cut a few pieces to give to a friend of mine.  Follow the recipe and you wont be disappointed.

Gettin’ Tangled in those Apron Strings

Just to be clear, I started a blog a year ago, during a rather stressful and less happy time in my life. My husband was overseas serving in Afghanistan and I was left with our at the time 1-year-old daughter who was already going through her terrible twos.  So I ended up nixing the blog. Which I apologize to the few who did read it. My now 2 1/2 Year old Eyrie modeling and apron made by her great grandma

 
My now 2 1/2 Year old Eyrie modeling and apron made by her great grandma

I have recently had more time for myself to express my creativity. In other words put my damn Culinary Degree to good use. For me to continue to hone my skills that I learned in school I would like to offer my fellow bloggees (if that’s how you’re supposed to put it) a look into what I like to dabble in. The Culinary Arts. I attended what was the Texas Culinary Academy, which while I was attending got their Le Cordon Bleu Accreditation. So therefore I ended up at the Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts, graduating with an Associates in Applied Sciences: Culinary Arts.

I am always getting questions from friends and people I know about what to do with what vegetable, how long eggs can last in the fridge etc, this was when the thought came to me to start a Page on my Facebook to give assistance and advice as well as allow others to put in their two cents. Which would also help me in practicing said culinary skills as well as learn more about culinary delightful nom noms.

My Facebook page which is titled Apron Strings: Cooking Tips and Advice has 21 followers which the majority are my family and close friends. I would like to see it branch out to many more people interested in the same things I am . I love Food, the mechanics of it, the honing of it, the cooking and of course the Eating.

I was once a Picky eater, even with that I still loved cooking. My philosophy then was that I didn’t have to eat it to enjoy making it. Now In my lowly years of 24 and almost 25 in May. I have gotten to experience the world. Literally experience it. I was an exchange student in Germany when I was 16 for ten months with the Rotex (Rotary Club International).  I joined the army when I was 17 and became a military police soldier.  I deployed to Iraq in 2007, I turned 19 two months prior to deployment. I spent 9 months there during the surge. I then volunteered to go back to Germany to be an MP, which I in fact did for 10 months in 2008-2009.  I came back in the summer od 2009 to enroll in Culinary School. I did the fast track 15 month class. Which was get your 2 year degree in 15 months, more classes  in each period. Met my husband, got pregnant (no kidding, I didn’t think this girl was nuts as it is). We have been happily married since May of 2010.

2 Deployments down with my husband it’s been a hell of a ride. Thus I restate my point of this really long intro. Apron Strings Doesn’t matter how much I tie those darn things always getting caught in them. But I will always continue cooking no matter the distractions.  Please feel free to read my blog, comment, like me, dislike me etc.  Find my page on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ApronStringsCookingTipsAndAdvice

Please chime in at any time with anything that interests you, or any questions you may have. If I don’t know the answer I will find you one, or find someone who can answer it for you. I have plenty of Cookbooks, Food Books, Websites to resource from.

 

Sorry for the long intro, please have a good one.